Who Are You?

young woman looking into a mirror

There’s just something so lovely about being around someone who is secure in their identity.

One of my best friends is a precious introvert. She’s gorgeous, she’s talented, she’s super creative and I admire her.  The other day I was having a conversation with her and told her how sometimes I wish I were more like her.  Quiet, behind the scenes, pure treasure.  **Shout out, Melissa** ❤

If you want to know about Melissa you have to actually spend time with her.  You won’t know her by her Facebook page or other social media outlets.  You won’t know her by constant texting.  You have to actually be with her.  I love this.  I love that our relationship is extremely special because she doesn’t share the deep details of her life with just anyone.

During my conversation with Melissa the other night I realized that she was completely okay. She was not seeking attention or trying to gather a crowd of friends around her.  She desires quality over quantity. If that means fewer folks in her life – then so be it.  But she was okay.  She was not suffering or seeking.  She was being.  She’s a wife, mom, friend, graphic designer, and many other things.  She’s not striving.  She’s being.  She’s living.

I have spent many years striving to be the popular girl, the leader, the mentor … and friends, that’s just plain exhausting.  I’ve learned that God can’t move you into your calling if you’re not even being you.

He created a plan for each of us.  He has a purpose for our lives – but how can we fulfill those purposes for our lives if we’re too busy living someone else’s?

He needs the real, authentic version of us to show up for the assignment.

Since as far back as I can remember, I have always tried to be what others thought I should be or what others labeled me.  Mostly good things – but exhausting things. … The leader, the counselor, the mentor.  These are the titles that made me feel important and like I was making a difference in this world.

That’s all good until you’re not those things.

I remember when I was struck with depression back in 2011.  I was struggling so bad.  I said to The Lord, “But I’ve always been so happy.” And The Lord spoke to my heart and said, “But who are you if you’re not happy? ”

It was such an eye opening moment.

He speaks that to my heart often.  “But who are you if …?   And who am I?”

Mark 8:29 comes to mind where Jesus is talking to his disciples in regards to what people were saying about him, “But what about you?” he asked. “Who do you say I am?”

I think Jesus will often ask us that question when our circumstances aren’t so pretty …. when our plans aren’t working out the way we thought they should.

Peter, one of Jesus’ disciples, answered “You are the Messiah.”

It’s okay if we don’t have it all figured out today.  I’d actually be more concerned if we DID have it figured out.

Today, we just need to know who we are ‘if’:

you have a health battle.

you have a prodigal child.

you’re having financial difficulty.

your marriage is suffering.

your dreams seem out of reach.

your season is changing quickly and you can’t control it. 

Our circumstances don’t change our identity in Christ.  That sucker is secure, sister!

… and who do we say Jesus is in the midst of those circumstances?

If you’re up for it – in the comments section, post who you are in the midst of your circumstances and who God is.

I’ll go first:

I am a daughter of the King. He has plans to prosper my life.  He created me with such detail for His glory.  I get to be apart of His plan.  Jesus is the Prince of Peace. By His stripes I am healed. He is my solid rock and I can always count on Him.  

We are loved by the King.  Deeply.  Always.

-April

 

 

One thought on “Who Are You?

  1. I am the daughter of a Heavenly Father who is loving me, guiding me, providing for me and protecting me. There is so much turmoil around me these last few months yet I feel more peace than I’ve ever known! I am loved!!

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

