A Grateful Heart

photo-sunset

The seeds of depression cannot take root in a grateful heart. When we welcome each day with a grateful heart and eager expectation of how God is going to show up – it changes everything.

I made cookies the other day.  My daughter, Trinity, was really excited when she saw that I was baking them.  The smell of chocolate chip cookies filled our home.  When they were done baking, I sat them out to cool.  Once cooled, I put some on a plate for my daughter and poured her a glass of milk.

It made me happy to have a yummy treat for Trinity.  As moms we love to give to our kids and we love to see them happy.

Trinity skipped into the kitchen to collect her cookies but when she saw the plate on the table the look of disappointment filled her eyes and the first thing out of her mouth was, “Ugh! I got small cookies.”

And just like that … I saw a reflection of myself.  A reflection of us.  I saw a reflection of humanity.  I saw a reflection of the church.

I sat down with Trinity and told her that she looked at the plate and she saw three small cookies.  What she didn’t know is that I was only going to give her two cookies but decided to give her one extra.  What she didn’t know is that the three cookies I gave her were the three with the MOST chocolate chips.

I had given her the best – and in abundance … but she just saw three small cookies.  Once I explained to her the story behind the cookies she felt silly, her perspective changed and she was grateful.

I wonder how often God gives us His best and our eyes only capture the minimum.  We have got to be able to believe past what we see or we’ll always be in bondage in one way or another. 

The scripture says our Father has lavished us with great love (1 John 3:1, Ephesians 1:8). The word lavished means to bestow something in generous or extravagant quantities upon.  Do you receive that love?  Do you allow God to lavish you with great love or are you always seeing that you didn’t get enough?

You have no idea when God allows for one EXTRA  … just because… just because He loves to give you good gifts.  You have no idea when God picks out the best for you … just because you mean so much to Him.

I pray that God would help us see our sense of entitlement and that we would turn in repentance and develop hearts of gratitude.  

You have a choice today to see past the natural.  You get to choose your attitude as you go throughout this day.  God is constantly lavishing us with great love and great gifts.  Don’t miss them because your gift doesn’t look like someone else’s or doesn’t look like a lot.

May you choose to have your heart overflow with gratitude today, friend.

You are dearly loved.

April

 

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

