Breaking Ties

Held-Back

As soon as I feel like someone is trying to trip me up on my mission and post as a stumbling block, I break ties. There is work to be done and either you’re rollin’ with me or you’re not. I spent MANY years circling the same mountain, tripped up over people and drama. Once God opened my eyes to that hot mess I knew I would never return.

I want to encourage you to stay the course. I want to tell you that you are better than the hot mess that pulls at you. I was stuck for years with “friends” who never built me up. They tore me down, they made me feel inadequate, they were jealous and competitive. They gossiped about one another (I was guilty too) and built up quarrels among the group. After suffering from anxiety and depression I knew that I would never settle again. I would rather be alone than be surrounded by drama, back biting, jealousy, etc… just to say I had friends and to have someone to hang out with. It wasn’t worth it anymore.

I logged into an old email account the other day and saw an email from a long time ago where I was having an email “falling out” with one of those girls and they said to me – “Oh whatever, April! Why don’t you just go back to your perfect life since everything is so amazing for you!”

This made me chuckle. I was so stupid and insecure. I can’t believe I ever allowed this in my life. It was a part of my journey though.  I’m grateful that God doesn’t leave us where we’re at when we’re seeking Him and seeking more for our lives.

I chose to be alone and believed that God would bring the right people into my life and He did.  God provided amazing friends to me.

People treat you the way you let them treat you. This seems so simple, right?  I know it’s hard to let go.  I felt so much guilt every time I would try to let go.  The more I understood my identity in Christ, the more secure I became.  God unleashed great courage and confidence inside of me.

You do not have to settle, my friend.  When you surrender to God, He takes care of the details. So if you feel a wedge coming between you and others that you have been questioning for quite some time … it may be time to loosen your grip and release them.  I loved the girls that I released but unfortunately it didn’t end well. That’s okay.  I forgave them and repented to The Lord about the areas where maybe I didn’t handle things very well.  Then I moved on.  I had to move on.

I can only tell you that my life has been blessed abundantly.  Don’t force people into the vacancies in your life.  Those spots are open for particular people.  People that will come along side you and challenge you in loving ways to see you soar higher.

Hebrews 12:1 Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a huge crowd of witnesses to the life of faith, let us strip off every weight that slows us down, especially the sin that so easily trips us up. And let us run with endurance the race God has set before us.

Don’t let anyone trip you up.  Being loving and show grace – but sometimes you have to break ties to keep moving forward. God’s got them – and God’s got you.  Trust and surrender.

Be free.

April

One thought on “Breaking Ties

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

