The Island of Misfits

Have you ever felt like you don’t belong?  Even in a room full of people, you just don’t fit?

Have you been pushed out of circles of “friends” because you’re different?

Oh boy! I know all about feeling alone.I know all about being a misfit.

My husband made a joke one day about me being on the island of misfit toys. You know, the toys that weren’t good enough so they were tossed away?  We laughed about it but you know me … I can write a blog out of anything and the Holy Spirit so often asks me to write those blogs out of the most random things so I obey.

When you get a bunch of misfits on an island together you get a pretty interesting crowd.  Usually a lot of brokenness remains, fear of abandonment and rejection hang over you, and the need to wallow in your sorrows may arise… but the coolest thing about the island of misfits is that you’re surrounded by a community of others who “didn’t belong”.  … they didn’t make the cut … they didn’t live up to the world’s standards.  So the question is are we really the misfits?

When I used to run with my worldly friends (whom said they were Christians) I will never forget one night at dinner during a girl’s night out, the group made a joke about how I was “a little too much” when it came to talking about Jesus.  They all agreed and laughed about how I just wouldn’t shut up about Him.  I was a complete misfit in this group but continued to try to make the relationships work because I feared being alone and without “friends”.

Once you spend a year of your life bound in captivity through anxiety and depression and you OVERCOME your tolerance changes. I finally let go of trying to fit and found myself on the island of misfits.

I’m proud of who I am and where I am.  I have accepted who I am.  I am confident and secure in who I am and who God has called me to be.

I met other misfits on the island and they’re pretty amazing! They know who they are and where they’ve come from.  They are genuine and kind.  They love deep.  I see Jesus in their hearts and they accept me – even the ugly pieces.

If you have found yourself on the Island of Misfits, take heart … you’re exactly where you’re supposed to be.  Don’t wallow in sorrow – check out the community around you.  I’m sure you’ll find some pretty amazing jewels and never regret being a part of a community that just doesn’t “fit” in this world.

Be free!

– A Proud Misfit (in this world)

One thought on “The Island of Misfits

  1. Pingback: I Did Not Survive “The Mommy’s Group” | April Poynter

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

