For He, Himself, is our peace

Image

Ephesians 2:14 says “for He (Jesus), Himself is our peace.”

I believe that any time we are struggling with peace in our lives we have to check our hearts to see where we have placed Jesus.  I guarantee you that if you are feeling empty and missing the peace that once ruled your life, you have probably asked Jesus to move over from the pilot seat and you took over (or so you think).

Don’t we just seem to get in the way … a lot?!?!  I know I do!

Philippians 4:7 “…and the peace of God, which transcends all understanding will guard your hearts  and your minds in Christ Jesus.”

Jehovah Shalom, one of the many names of the Lord,  means The Lord our Peace. (Judges 6:22-24)

I loved studying in Ephesians over the past few weeks.  I would find myself completely stuck on one sentence for days but specifically about peace.

This world is filled with messy people because they are searching for peace.  People stir up problems, start drama, dig up old issues, etc … because they are searching for peace but instead of submitting their lives to Christ – they search on… and they will continue searching.

On the other hand – Believers are searching as well.  I had a conversation the other day about how heart breaking it is that Believers live in bondage themselves.  That’s pretty hindering when you see a Christ professing individual living in bondage.  It’s completely contradictory.  How can we help others when we’re sinking ourselves?

I’m not trying to hit you over the head with the “hard stuff” tonight but I just want to shake some folks around and plead with them to STOP giving the enemy so much credit and stop giving him a foothold in their lives! 

I truly believe some people don’t want the peace.  They say they do but they don’t know how to accept it and live in it!  

We make this walk with Jesus so much harder than it should be.  **Raises hand** I can attest to that myself because I have a tendency to make it hard too.

We’re in need of the basics … so tonight, let’s start over with peace.  To have peace is to know Jesus and that’s really all we need, right? 

Peace be with you my friends!

Colossians 3:15  Let the peace of Christ rule in your hearts, since as members of one body you were called to peace. And be thankful.

-April

http://www.healedwholenew.com 

 

 

 

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

