No Comparison

http://www.healedwholenew.com

Want to make yourself depressed? Just go to Facebook and start looking at people’s marvelous lives!

FAKE – it’s all fake.  Well, not that it’s really fake it’s just that you see what people want you to see. Facebook and social media is a place where you paint a picture that you want to portray.

Sometimes I browse through pages and people’s lives seem so magical … in comparison to my ordinary life it’s enough to make me feel like I’m not good enough, not doing enough, not Christian enough, not fit enough, not a good enough mom or wife… just blah!

Rest in knowing that everyone has problems – everyone has something that they’re working through.  Don’t compare yourself to others – it’s a QUICK way to wind up depressed.

My secret that I don’t publicly share? I feel alone … a lot.  It’s something that I have always struggled with.  There are times when my life is thriving out of control and then there are more quiet seasons where my phone doesn’t ring, no texts, no emails, no outings with friends and I feel empty and very alone.  It’s in this place of false loneliness (because we are never really alone … not when you have a relationship with Jesus Christ) that the enemy starts to share lies with me. I’m tempted to believe them at times but I know that nothing good ever comes from listening to the enemy.

When I feel this alone feeling, I know that God is drawing me to Him … that I have filled a void with perishable things instead of filling it with Christ.  Funny how once you spend time with the Lord and let Him speak to your heart you don’t feel alone anymore.

I know, especially for us women, the comparison game is something that we battle often.  Just know that t each chick is just as jacked up as the next chick.  We are all a work in progress!

There is no comparison to you. You are fearfully and wonderfully made.  You are special and unique – one of a kind. Experience freedom in being you!

-AprilImage

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

