Restored

Today I sat down to write a song.  It was the FIRST time in 8 years that I have really tried to write a song… and not just any song but a love song to my Redeemer.  The words came easy.  I guess when you’re in love with Jesus and you realize what all He has done for you and how much He loves you, it’s a little easier to let the words just flow.

For those of you who don’t know, I used to sing.  When I was in 8th grade I was the lead vocalist for the 8th Grade Rock Band (ha!).  The gig didn’t last long, scheduling and such… but I did get to practice with the band a few times and even visited my first recording studio to record tracks such as Wild Thing and You’ve Really Got Me.  I had to sing in SUCH a low and uncomfortable range to make the vocals work and eventually I just didn’t seem to fit.  I may be wrong – BUT – I think the band leader wanted it to be an all boy band but to his surprise only ONE person tried out and it wasn’t a boy, it was me.  They got stuck with me.

When I was in high school I started working with a label called YE Records.  I started to record R&B tracks and featured on some rap songs as well.  I took on the name “April Dextrous … The Talented One”  <— That cracks me up.  I even rapped once.  Shout out to P3 who also represented YE Records and Randy who represented BLACK OUT! LOL!  (inside stuff)  If some of y’all still have those CD’s DO NOT embarrass me!! LOL!  I worked with YE Records for a few years and then it just eventually fell apart.

In 2005, I dedicated my life to the Lord, Jesus Christ.  One of my first transformations had to do with singing and music.  I was not very humble when I was singing main stream music.  When I gave my life to Jesus, I realized my singing would have to go on the back burner because I wasn’t very humble and craved too much attention for myself.  I hid that gift for 8 years.  I joined a choir so that I could still exercise the gift but for the most part I just stopped singing.

After an amazing and convicting conversation with a friend and then wrestling with the Lord for a few weeks, I am ‘faith walking’ a journey of me singing again.  So many things have lined up already and it’s really freakin’ me out!  This is a whole new life of music for me.  Brand NEW.  Over the past 8 years so much has happened.  I have destroyed, God has built up.  I have grown and stretched and bent to the point of almost breaking but instead have been restored and made whole.

Why am I telling you all this?  Well, first of all – I need your prayers.  If you are a prayer warrior or just say a prayer every now and then, I would be so grateful if you would pray for me.  I don’t know what the road holds ahead, I really have no expectations but I just pray wholeheartedly that my life, my music, my story will bring God so much glory.  I pray for discernment and provision also.

Second – Look at my life!!! If you have kept up with my journey – how can you NOT worship God?!!?!  On this day last year I was just speaking out about the bondage I was in.  Fear, anxiety, panic, and depression.  I was in a pit so deep I could see NO way out.  I had hope but I was definitely in a different place.  God made beauty from the ashes.  He promises that He has a plan for our lives.  A plan to prosper us!  Jeremiah 29:11-14 11 For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. 12 Then you will call upon me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you. 13 You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart. 14 I will be found by you,” declares the Lord, “and will bring you back from captivity. I will gather you from all the nations and places where I have banished you,” declares the Lord, “and will bring you back to the place from which I carried you into exile.”  These are my life verses for sure.  Most people stop right after verse 11 but for me, verse 14 sets my soul on fire – ‘I will gather you from all the nations and places where I have banished you … and will bring you back to the place from which I carried you into exile.”  8 years ago music and singing was banished from my life.  God knows best, so I believe I had to put it all down to keep myself out of trouble but here I am years later and everything is being restored.  We serve an awesome God!

It’s nice to know that your friends are standing behind you as you embark on a new journey so thank you for your prayers and support!

I’ll keep you posted.

Ready, Set, Go –

April

2 thoughts on “Restored

  1. Hi April
    Isn’t it beautiful how God can transform ashes into beauty, and what more beautiful thing is there than an redeemed life? But even extending to gifts and dreams as well, as you mentioned. I was reading some devotionals by Selwyn Hughes and he spoke about how God may allow a dream, such as your singing perhaps, to die, and be given wholly to Him, and then He brings it back to life and causes it to grow for His glory.
    God bless
    Peter

    • Peter,
      Thank you for your comment. Wow! How awesome is that?!?! I just thought my life of singing was dead and here I am… stepping back out into a dream restored – only by the grace of God. I wouldn’t want it any other way.

      Blessings, my friend,

      April

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

