Can Your Love Reach Down This Far?

Have you ever felt like you were so far in a pit that no one could
reach you?  Maybe you feel like you’re
there right now.  I want you to know that
I have been there… and I want you to know that I am no longer there.

I remember sharing my experience with someone as I was walking
through panic/anxiety/depression and I felt so void… I knew they had NO clue
what I was talking about.  After sharing
with a few trusted sources and finding no relief I wound up isolating to
keep from making myself seem even crazier.

Lying on the floor, face down, crying so hard I could barely catch
my breath, BEGGING God to make all the torment go away … and nothing
changed.  “In Jesus’ HOLY name, I demand
that these feelings of anxiety go away!!!!!!!” … nothing changed.

As I stand on the outside looking in I see that EVERYTHING was
changing.  God was doing major work in my
life.  I couldn’t feel immediate relief
and I didn’t see instant changes but God was doing what only God can do.

2
Corinthians 4:17-18

New International
Version 1984 (NIV1984)

17 For our light and momentary troubles are
achieving for us an eternal glory that far outweighs them all. 18 So
we fix our eyes not on what is seen, but on what is unseen. For what is seen is
temporary, but what is unseen is eternal.

This blog is
titled “Can Your Love Reach Down This Far?” because of how lonely it feels at
the bottom.  I was listening to a song in
the car the other day and it goes like this: “Can You hold me together?  Can Your love reach down this far?  Can you hold me together?  ‘Cause without You holding my heart I’m
falling apart.”  I would hear this song
when I was suffering from anxiety/depression and the words “can Your love reach
down this far” would always send me into tears and begging God for more of His
presence because I literally felt like I was so far in the pit that He could
not reach me anymore.  I was too far
down.

I know that you
feel that way too.  I know you feel like
no one understands … even if you’re reading my blog you are probably having
thoughts that go something like this:

“She had a different type of
panic/anxiety/depression… she can’t relate to you.”

“Her situation is different…
because she came out of it and is speaking about it now… unlike my situation…because
there is no solution or end to my situation.”

“I’m just crazy… I have
literally lost my marbles, so maybe I’m not dealing with
panic/anxiety/depression … I’m just dealing with being CRAZY!”

I’m here to tell
you that you are NOT crazy!  You are fine
and you will be healed!  I challenge you
to believe me.

Romans 8:38-39

New International Version 1984 (NIV1984)

38 For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels
nor demons,[a] neither the present nor the future, nor any
powers, 39 neither height nor depth, nor
anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God
that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.

When I was at the bottom I would read this scripture over and over again yet I still
felt unreachable, unlovable, and alone.
Can you see how deceived I was?

That’s the thing with the Word of God.  It is
TRUE.  It never changes no matter how I
feel or how I change the Word of God stand true.  I have a choice to believe it or not.

1 Peter 1:24-25

New International Version 1984 (NIV1984)

24 For,

“All men are like grass,

and all their glory is like the flowers of the field;

the grass withers and the flowers fall,

25 but the word of the Lord stands forever.”[a]

When I heard that song in the car the other day I knew in my spirit that I had to
tell you that His love can reach you.
You can never go too far from His reach.
Hang on!  Cling to the Word.  Read it out loud and declare it in the name
of Jesus and KEEP ON KEEPING ON!  I
promise you that God is working to release you from the bondage that you’re in….
meet Him there.  You are not alone.

I have lots of resources to help you move from your paralyzed state of
fear/panic/anxiety/depression –  please email me aprilpoynter@gmail.com  I’d love to pray with you and for you and
even better… if you don’t know Jesus I’d love to tell you about Him!

Shine,

A

Psalm 139:1-24 (minus verses 19-22)

1
O LORD, you have searched me

and
you know me.

2
You know when I sit and when I rise;

you
perceive my thoughts from afar.

3
You discern my going out and my lying down;

you
are familiar with all my ways.

4
Before a word is on my tongue

you
know it completely, O LORD.

5
You hem me in—behind and before;

you
have laid your hand upon me.

6
Such knowledge is too wonderful for me,

too
lofty for me to attain.

7
Where can I go from your Spirit?

Where
can I flee from your presence?

8
If I go up to the heavens, you are there;

if
I make my bed in the depths,[a] you arethere.

9
If I rise on the wings of the dawn,

if
I settle on the far side of the sea,

10
even there your hand will guide me,

your
right hand will hold me fast.

11
If I say, “Surely the darkness will hide me

and
the light become night around me,”

12
even the darkness will not be dark to you;

the
night will shine like the day,

for
darkness is as light to you.

13
For you created my inmost being;

you
knit me together in my mother’s womb.

14
I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made;

your
works are wonderful,

I
know that full well.

15
My frame was not hidden from you

when
I was made in the secret place.

When
I was woven together in the depths of the earth,

16
your eyes saw my unformed body.

All
the days ordained for me

were
written in your book

before
one of them came to be.

17
How precious to[b] me are yourthoughts, O God!

How
vast is the sum of them!

18
Were I to count them,

they
would outnumber the grains of sand.

When
I awake,

I
am still with you.

23
Search me, O God, and know my heart;

test
me and know my anxious thoughts.

24
See if there is any offensive way in me,

and
lead me in the way everlasting.

Deuteronomy 31:8 – The Lord himself goes before you and will be
with you; he will never leave you nor forsake you. Do not be afraid; do not be
discouraged.

Psalm 34:18 – The Lord is close to the broken-hearted and saves
those who are crushed in spirit.

Romans 15:13 – May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace
as you trust in him, so that you may overflow with hope by the power of the
Holy Spirit.

1 Peter 4:12 – Dear Friends, do not be surprised at the painful
trial you are suffering, as though something strange were happening to you.

1 Peter 4:13 – But rejoice that you participate in the sufferings
of Christ, so that you may be overjoyed when his glory is revealed

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

