STICKS AND STONES MAY BREAK MY BONES…

“Sticks and stones may break my bones but words will never hurt me.”

What a crock!  I don’t remember any pain from sticks and stones being thrown at me in the past but the pain of mean words still burn in my soul at times.

We have to be careful with our words.  We have to be aware and alert at all times of the things that can come out of our mouths towards another person. 

Proverbs 18:21 “The tongue has the power of life and death”

Ephesians 4:29 “Do not let any unwholesome talk come out of your mouths, but only what is helpful for building others up according to their needs, that it may benefit those who listen.”

Proverbs 12:18 “Reckless words pierce like a sword, but the tongue of the wise brings healing.”

Proverbs 15:4 “The tongue that brings healing is a tree of life, but a deceitful tongue crushes the spirit.”

Titus 3:2 “2 to slander no one, to be peaceable and considerate, and to show true humility toward all men.”

Those are just a few verses that speak of the tongue.  There are TONS in the scriptures that tell us to guard our tongues – especially throughout Proverbs.

I write this blog because I was showering this morning and using the shield of faith to extinguish the fiery darts of the evil one but one of his whispers repeated something that someone had said to me not too long ago… something negative and mean… something that pops in my head from time to time.  The fact that those words do come back around shows me that I have been hurt by what was said and maybe even tempted to believe it at times.  Those. Words. Are. A. Lie. Someone spoke their opinion over me TO me and allowed the enemy to use them as a tool to make me feel less of a child of God than I am. 

I wish those words were never spoken over me or to me but they were.  Now it’s my choice to believe them or cast them away.  I’m choosing to cast them away… even if I have to cast them away 5 million times a day – they are not for me.

2 Corinthians 10:5 “We demolish arguments and every pretension that sets itself up against the knowledge of God, and we take captive every thought to make it obedient to Christ.”

Let me tell you who I am (I stole these from Pastor Steve Berger’s sermon notes):

Matthew 5:13 I am the salt of the earth.

Matthew 5:14 I am the light of the world.

John 1:12 I am a child of God (part of his family – Romans 8:16).

John 15:5 I am part of the true vine, a channel (branch) of Christ’s life.

John 15:15 I am Christ’s friend.

John 15:16 I am chosen and appointed by Christ to produce His fruit.

Romans 6:18 I am a slave of righteousness. (not sin).

Romans 6:22 I am enslaved to God (not the devil).

Romans 8:14,15 I am a son/daughter of God (God is spiritually my Father – Galatians

3:26; 4:6).

Romans 8:17 I am a joint-heir with Christ, sharing His inheritance with Him.

Romans 8:37 I am more than a conqueror through Him who loves me.

1 Corinthians 3:16, 6:19 I am a temple (home) of God. His Spirit (His life) dwells in me.

1 Corinthians 6:17 I am joined (united) to the Lord and am one spirit with Him.

1 Corinthians 12:27 I am a member (part) of Christ’s body. (Ephesians 5:30).

2 Corinthians 5:17 I am a new creation (new person, the old has passed away).

2 Corinthians 5:18,19 I am reconciled to God and am a minister of reconciliation.

Galatians 3:26,28 I am a child of God and one in Christ.

Galatians 4:6,7 I am an heir of God since I am a child of God.

Ephesians 1:1 I am a saint. (1 Corinthians 1:2; Philippians 1:1; and Colossians 1:2).

Ephesians 1:3 I am blessed with every spiritual blessing.

I know that I have been guilty as far as speaking something negative over others in the past and maybe even slip up and do the same in the future but I want to be so aware!  I see how it crushes the spirit… I know first-hand.  I also know that God has called us to build each other up.  I want to be a part of God’s plan!

Be very careful of what you speak out loud today (speaking to myself as well) and take captive any lies that others have spoken over you.

This is from Pastor Steve Berger’s sermon notes as well… but they need to be shared:

We are not how we feel.

• We are not who the devil says we are

• We are not what our insecurities say we are

• We are not what our past says we are

• We are not what our abusive, unloving, uninvolved, disinterested spouse or parent says we are

• We are who God says we are, a child of the Living God

• We are redeemed from our past

• We are secure in our present

• We are hopeful in the future and for eternity

Walking in the Truth,

April

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

